Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2019

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2019 welcomes short fiction written in English.Opening on 1st of September, 2018 and closing on 1st November (11:59pm) the same year, it gives participants ample time to work on their short stories.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is an annual award managed and sponsored by the Commonwealth Foundation. It concentrates on unpublished short fiction (2,000-5,000 words) from member nations, Kenya being one of them.

In its 7th year now, the Commonwealth Short Story Prize has seen many winners from various regions. The judges are usually drawn from each of the areas allowed to take part.

There will be a total of 5 winners, one from each region, one of which will be selected as the overall winner. The 4 will receive £2,500 as the overall winner receives £5,000.

The best thing about this submission is there are no restrictions on setting, theme or genre. It is also free to enter. How wonderful is that?

Entries are expected to be original and unpublished previously, as the worldwide copyright remains to be the writer’s. Commonwealth citizens with stories in Kiswahili, Bengali, Chinese, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan and Tamil and no translations of the same are still eligible.

Go here for directions and entry rules.

Compiled by Rehema Zuberi


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s